FYIC 2016

Two weeks ago, I had an amazing weekend attending the First Year Integration Conference at Ryerson University in Toronto. The conference, put on by the Engineering Student Societies’ Council of Ontario (ESSCO) and the Ryerson Engineering Student Society, hosts first year delegates from Ontario engineering programs.

The theme for the weekend was Roads to Success, and the conference’s main focus is to encourage the involvement of first year engineering students in their Engineering Student Societies. This was accomplished through presentations by various student leaders on a wide range of topics (eg: an introduction to engineering societies, crisis management, tips for campaign speeches, and professionalism). We also heard from keynote speaker Drew Dudley, and representatives from OSPE and PEO. The talks allowed us to gain perspective from many VP Externals for different Engineering Societies, to learn more about engineering in Ontario, and how to get involved in societies at our schools.

I really enjoyed learning more about ESSCO and how I could get involved with their organization, and/or Waterloo’s Engineering Society in the future. The other thing I loved about the weekend was meeting so many great people! Engineering conferences are ideal for meeting like-minded people who are really fun and just as interested in engineering and leadership as you are. I’ve heard that I will likely continue seeing these new friends at conferences in the future, and I’m really looking forward to it.

So, as I’ve said before: conferences are great opportunities. FYIC had a big impact on my goals for involvement and leadership during my undergrad, and I got to hang out in Toronto with a lot of cool people from my school, and from around the province. A huge thanks to everyone who helped organize FYIC 2016! 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One thought on “FYIC 2016

Leave a Reply

